Cinco de Mayo Thoughts on Life and Blizzcon

cinco46

May 5th, 2013.

People want to celebrate today, for no other reason than they feel that it’s “Okay” to do it.  It’s Mexican New Year, or it’s the victory of some battle.  Most people don’t know, and don’t care.  All they know is that it’s socially acceptable to get pissed up today, tip back Coronas with lime, and celebrate like it means something.

But does it?

I try to be an “up” guy.  I really do.  I’ve had people tell me they’re surprised at how positive I am, considering the things that are – and have been – going on in my life over the past few months.  It helped that I had things to look forward to.  One of which was the anticipation of Blizzcon 2013 tickets.

Unfortunately, I met a lovely lady.  I say unfortunately because it now looks like this lovely lady will be stepping out of my life.  She’s great, and I’m happy for the experience in meeting her.  On a selfish level, though, when I was with her I missed out on both opportunities to buy Blizzcon tickets.

Now I have lost out twice.  No girl.  No tickets.

I honestly don’t know what to think about Fate.  Is there some power guiding our lives, or do these things just happen?  I doubt there’s some omnipotent puppet master out there, but I can’t help but look at the situation and think “does this mean something?”  The past two times I went to Blizzcon, I had training the day after I got home so I never had the chance to fully enjoy it.  That wouldn’t be an issue this year, and now I’m not going.

Well, not going yet.

Like I said, I don’t think there’s some Guiding Hand out there, steering us like a child playing with a toy boat in a puddle.  But I do think that we need to see opportunities that are presented to us, and decide right then and there what the next step should be.  There isn’t anyone or anything that pushes us through the door.  But we have to be able to see when that door is opened, and decide whether we’re going to step through or close it.

Today, I won’t be celebrating any more than I do on any other day.  But I will be enjoying my day.  Every day brings opportunities, and I’m excited to see what the next one will be.

World of Warcraft is fun.  Dailies, raiding, all entertaining stuff.  But it’s Real Life that provides true adventure.

About Donny Rokk

Gamer. Writer. Lover. Fighter. Defying stereotypes, one nerdgasm at a time.

Posted on May 5, 2013, in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Cinco de Mayo Thoughts on Life and Blizzcon.

Comments are closed.

